On hunting

    • Seattle, Washington

    I’ve shot a gun less than half a dozen times in my life.
    Many years ago I was in the woods with a friend who had a rifle. He gave it to me. I took aim at a small bird perched overhead in a tree, fired, and the dead bird fell to the ground. At that moment there was a twittering above.  I looked up and saw another bird flying back and forth on the same branch. I heard grief and shock from the bird. I’ll never shoot another living thing.
    If that makes me less of a man, so be it.
    Some guys believe their prowess with a gun in shooting animals proves something about their masculinity. They’re right.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

