Re a NYT article about Martin Luther King’s legacy

  • Seattle, Washington

Fifty years ago, I was a nice enough twenty year old white male student. I would never have practiced open racial discrimination. But in my heart, I didn’t believe in the humanity of the black race.
Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. spoke at L.A. City College.  I went out of interest to see a well-known world figure.  Listening to him, I started to become aware of the brilliance of the man. By the time he finished, I was transfixed into the realization that black people are truly people.  It was a spiritual awakening.
I gained a compassion for myself and others that didn’t exist before.

I haven’t always lived up to it,  but achieving fairness and truth has been my guiding star.
Dr. King gave me that.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

