Scary movies

  • Seattle, Washington

For me, the 1951 film, “The Thing” was scariest of all. I think it had to do with it taking place in an isolated Arctic outstation. There is no running away from an alien monster who is frozen in ice until the ice melted.  You couldn’t even go outside.
I remember peeking through the curtain from the lobby at the screen.
I’d run out of the theater because I was terrified to be up close and personal to the action.
For months afterwards, lying in bed in the dark, I stared, transfixed in horror, looking at the closet door in my bedroom. I was positive it was slowly – slowly – being pushed open by the monster inside.
“Psycho” came in a close second. Motels can be avoided.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

