Best friend

This was my response to a NYT article by a 90 year old woman, recently widowed, who got a dog for the first time – and how much the dog has meant to her:

Mark NW.

Seattle, Washington 10 minutes ago

The relationships with my dogs down through the years were spiritual – their spirits and mine in continual connection. Those relationships weren’t financial, intellectual, or sexual – they were loving. The unconditional love I felt from them was ongoing. There were times when, literally, my life was saved by my dog. This is in addition to thousands of moments of emotional give and take. I’ve been without a dog for several years because my life doesn’t allow me to give the attention and time for that relationship to be fair to the dog. One day – not too far in the future – I’ll have another dog. I can’t wait.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

